Leader Awards

Award Sponsors, Categories & Nominees

Executive Sponsors

Click here for further information on the University’s Management School and its programmes

Further information for businesses wanting to access the University’s expertise is available here

The world faces unprecedented economic, societal, organisational and management challenges in the 21st century and now, more than ever, there is a real need for strong and inspirational business leaders to drive our economic recovery and growth.

The University of Liverpool is dedicated to helping people and organisations meet the significant leadership challenges posed by today’s uncertain, changing world through world-class education and a range of opportunities for businesses to access our expertise.

Read More

The University’s Management School is helping to shape the leaders of tomorrow, equipping them to navigate conflicting priorities, deal with uncertainty and make ethical choices – to the benefit of individuals, enterprises and communities. It’s a place where students, academics and organisations come together to develop and share management practice at its very best in an innovative, vibrant environment that’s focused on ‘making a difference’, through published research, knowledge exchange, consultancy, conferences and teaching.

We also share our knowledge-based assets and resources with partners in business and industry. These relationships spark new ideas that enable business leaders to actively embrace innovation and apply new knowledge – not only to products and services but to production and business processes.

We are committed to helping leaders engage with the serious challenges that impact upon the wellbeing of companies and economies, both overseas and closer to home in Liverpool.

We are delighted to sponsor the Liverpool Post Leadership Awards which celebrate the very best examples of leadership in the region and provide an important benchmark for the leaders of tomorrow.

Read Less

Award Categories and Sponsors

    • University of Liverpool Business Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Neil Murray, CEO, Redx Pharma

      Highly Commended
      John Syvret, CEO, Cammell Laird
      Natalie Haywood, Founder LEAF

      View the Leaders 2012 Publication »

    • Public Sector Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Jon Murphy, Chief Constable of Merseyside Police

      Max Steinberg, Cheif Executive, Liverpool Vision
      Graham Burgess, Chief Executive, Wirral Council

      View the Leaders 2012 publication »

    • Political Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Lord Michael Heseltine, Former MP and ex-minister for Merseyside

      Highly Commended
      Maria Eagle, Labour MP for Garston and Halewood
      Paul Brant, Depity Liverpool Mayor and cabinet member for finance

      View the Leaders 2012 publication »

    • Cultural Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Michael Eakin, Chief Executive, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic

      Highly Commended
      Andrea Nixon, Executive Director, Tate Liverpool
      Ruth Gould, Artistic Director, DaDaFest

      View the Leaders 2012 publication »

    • Creative and Digital Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Erika Rushton, Chair, Baltic Creative

      Highly Commended
      Richard Veal, MD, New Mind
      Kate Stewart, Founderm Made-here

      View the Leaders 2012 Publication»

    • Lifestyle Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Philip Armstrong, Designer and co-owner of Philip Armstrong Couture

      Justine Mills, Owner of Cricket Boutique and Fashion Expert
      Paul Askew, Restaurateur, chef and hotelier

      View the Leaders 2012 publication »

    • Social & Community Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Claire Dove, Chief Executive, Blackburn House

      Highly Commended
      Jane Davis, Founder and Director, The Reader Organisation
      Robbie Davison, Founder Can Cook

      View the Leaders 2012 publication »

    • ARUP Health Leader of the Year


      2013 Winner: Sir Ian Gilmore, Chair of Liverpool Health Comission

      Highly Commended
      Paula Grey, Director of public health Liverpool
      Louise Shepherd, Chief Executive of Alder Hey CHildren’s NHS Foundation Trust

      View the Leaders 2012 publication»

    • Professional Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: John Hall, Chief Executive, Professional Liverpool

      Highly Commended
      Neil Strumey Liverpool Office Head, Grant Thornton
      Helen Broughton, Managing Partner, Morecrofts

      View the Leaders 2012 publication»

    • Sports Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: Steven Gerrad, Captain of Liverpool FC & England

      Steve O’Connor, Owner, Widnes Vikings RLFC
      Anders Borg, Tournament Director, Liverpool International Tennis

      View the Leaders 2012 publication»

    • Knowledge Leader of the Year

      2013 Winner: John Lewis, Managing Director, SOG

      Prof Mike Bode, Director, Astrophysics Research Institute
      Prof Susan Smith, Head of Daresbury Laboratory

      View the Leaders 2012 publication»